Machu Picchu one of the 7 Wonders of the World

HomeTips Machu Picchu Wonder of world

2016 Ticket Machu PicchuMachu Picchu was declared on July 7, 2007 as one of the new 7 wonders of the world in an event in Lisbon, Portugal; The seven wonders of the world obtained the vote of more than 100 million voters worldwide; the voting was electronic. This event was the initiative of the private entity NOWC – New Open World Corporation whose founder is the Swiss Bernard Weber. The ceremony was hosted by the actresses Hilary Swank and BipashaBasu and actor Ben Kingsley. Event that was broadcast in 170 countries with an estimated audience of 1.6 million viewers.

The 7 Wonders of the World were announced at a ceremony star-studded, musical performances and a parade of world dignitaries. At night he highlighted the participation of the singers: Jose Carreras, Jennifer Lopez, Dulce Pontes, ChakaKhan, Alessandro Safina and Joaquín Cortés. Special guests were the astronaut Neil Armstrong, Bertrand Piccard, Federico Mayor and soccer player Cristiano Ronaldo.

Bernard Weber notes, "Machu Picchu is a testament to the incredible courage and vision that had the Incas of engineering. Despite the wait, I was shocked when I saw the first terraces (platforms) and stately homes next to this incredible high and steep mountain (and thought I had scaled the mountains of Switzerland!), I was speechless. The New7Wonders team was moved by the sight. the good condition and preservation of the houses, courtyards and, of course, the Intihuatana, show how sophisticated was the Inca society with its knowledge of astronomy, agriculture and engineering".

The honor of receiving the award went to the mayor of the district of Machu Picchu, Edgar Miranda, who dressed in traditional costume Inca, greeted animators. 77 were selected monuments worldwide but the list was reduced to 21 and subsequently chose only seven.

The 7 wonders of the world, according to the order they were chosen are:

  1. La Gran Muralla China (China)
  2. Petra (Jordania)
  3. El Cristo Redentor de Río de Janeiro (Brasil)
  4. Machu Picchu (Perú)
  5. Chichen Itzá (México)
  6. El Coliseo de Roma (Italia)
  7. El TajMahal (India)

Machu Picchu in Quechua language means "Old Mountain", is the name that receives the ancient Inca village, built around the fifteenth century, deep in the valley of the river Urubamba (Cusco Province); on top of a rocky outcrop between the mountains Huayna Picchu "Young Mountain" and Machu Picchu to 130 km from the city of Cusco. The scientific discovery of the Inca fortress was a June 24, 1911 by the American explorer and archaeologist Hiram Bingham.

Machu Picchu holds several awards and ponderativos titles for its striking architecture and landscape beauty.

  • Machu Picchu declared Heritage Cultural and Natural by UNESCO in 1983.
  • Declared the third most visited destination by TripAdvisor, a travel website with 50 million monthly visitors, 20 million members, distributed in 29 countries.
  • National Geographic Traveler included to Machu Picchu in the list of 50 destinations in life. These destinations were chosen by a select team of explorers, photographers, writers and editors.
  • Machu Picchu was also chosen as Best Green Destination by the World Travel Awards.




Chat now